Indifference is not characteristic of the liturgy
Gottesblog Revision2.jpg


A blog of the Evangelical Lutheran Liturgy

Sabre of Boldness Nominees Sought


The Gottesdienst Sabre of Boldness award is again to be presented during the week of the annual Symposia on the Lutheran Confessions at Concordia Theological Seminary in Fort Wayne (15-18 January 2019), but there are a couple of changes in scheduling. This year we are moving the event from Thursday to Wednesday night, during a reception we will be hosting at Redeemer Lutheran Church in Fort Wayne, where Rev. David Petersen, one of our editors, is the pastor.

(The annual Redeemer Conference is also, as usual, scheduled for Monday of that week, the 14th. Dr. David P. Scaer is presenting.)

We invite all of our Gottesdienst readers (you, the Gottesdienst Crowd) to join us at 7:00 on Wednesday night, 16 January, for a reception at which the Sabre award will be announced.

The Sabre ceremony is in its twenty-fourth year.  Nominations are invited.  The award is given “For conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity on behalf of the Holy Church of Christ while engaged in the confession of His pure Gospel in the face of hostile forces and at the greatest personal risk.” Submit a signed nomination to Fr. Eckardt with “Sabre of Boldness” in the subject line.  State the name, address, and telephone number of the nominee and the reasons why he or she is a fitting choice for Sabre Bearer.  The degree of the adversity, steadfast resistance to pressures to compromise, heedlessness of threats, and a clear confession of faith are considered.  The slate will close on Tuesday, January 15th. 

Bearers of the Sabre

2018  The Reverend John Hill

2017  The Reverend Dr. Gottfried Martens and Trinity Lutheran Church in Berlin, Germany
2016  The Reverend Charles Wildner
2015  The Reverend Jeffrey Horn
2014  The Reverend Michael Brockman
2013  Mrs. Katie Schuermann
2012  The Reverend Paul Rydecki
2011  The Reverend Brian Saunders
2010  The Right Reverend Dr. Paul Kofi Fynn
2009  The Reverend Juhana Pohjola
2008  The Reverend Aaron Moldenhauer
2007  The Reverend Dr. Ronald Feuerhahn
2006  Bishop Walter Obare
2005  The Reverend Edward Balfour
2004  The Reverend Charles M. Henrickson
2003  The Reverend Dr. Wallace Schulz
2002  The Reverend Erich Fickel
2001  The Reverend Dr. John C. Wohlrabe
2000  The Reverend Peter M. Berg
1999  The Reverend Gary V. Gehlbach
1998  The Reverend Dr. Edwin S. Suelflow
1997  The Reverend Jonathan G. Lange
1996  The Reverend Peter C. Bender

Burnell EckardtComment